Five Indian languages reinstated as official languages in South African schools

South African Government reinstated five Indian languages, viz. Hindi, Gujurati, Telugu, Tamil and Urdu in South African State-run schools. The Government took this measure in response to the plea of 1.4 million strong Indian origin people in the nation. The nation’s Education Department has confirmed in a circular to schools that they can offer what it refers to as Eastern languages, because Arabic is also offered alongside the Indian languages. Indian languages were removed from the official curriculum in South Africa State-run in 1994. -Wisdom


Write your opnion

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s